Alpine Valleys Community Leadership Program - Alumni



Honorary Graduates

AVCLP Honorary Graduate Award

The AVCLP Honorary Graduate Award recognises an individual’s significant contribution to leadership development within the region. Each recipient has:

David Roff2012: David Roff

David joined the AVCLP Board in 2003. At that time he was Director of Business Services for the City of Wodonga. In 2005 David was elected as Deputy Chair and then was Chairperson from 2006 – 2010. Early in David’s term as Chair of AVCLP he was appointed to the role of CEO for the Mansfield Shire and despite the demands of this new role he generously continued to give his time and expertise to increasing the profile and sustainability of AVCLP.


Bernard Young2013: Bernard Young

Bernard was a founding member of the AVCLP Board, and served on the Board from its inception until 2007. After the initial success of the first AVCLP Program, the Program went into recess whilst further funding was sought. In his role as Regional Manager of Business Victoria Bernard advocated for the Program and helped to source funding and resources to enable the continuation of AVCLP. His staunch support and belief in the Program’s outcomes proved the tipping point between the Program folding, and the future development of the Program.

Nerida Kerr2014: Nerida Kerr

Nerida was a founding Board member of AVCLP and served until 2013. She was instrumental in developing the governance of the organisation and seeking ongoing funding for the Program. Nerida is one of the region’s most respected, but quiet achievers. She has contributed to the region by initiating, establishing and implementing many highly successful and innovative community programs. Nerida has a reputation for working hard and not giving up until an organisation is established, becomes sustainable, and is well governed and successfully managed.


Neil Clydsdale2014: Neil Clydsdale

Neil is a graduate of the first AVCLP program in 1999. His passion contributed to the Program being taken out of recession in its second year and continuing on in successive years. Neil represented the communities of the Upper Murray on the AVCLP Board from 2001-2013 and has been instrumental in several people from the Upper Murray participating in AVCLP. Neil has served as a Councillor on Tumbarumba Shire Council, as Chairman of the Tintaldra Landcare group, and has achieved more than 30 years of service for the CFA.

Barry Sullivan2017: Barry Sullivan

Barry served on the AVCLP Board from 1999 – 2007 and has been one of AVCLP’s most popular AVCLP presenters every year since. Barry presents about leadership in business, and his personable presentation style leaves a positive lasting impression on our participants.

With extensive manufacturing and engineering experience, Barry has forged his career in the region, including management roles with IBM, and as co-founder of Wangaratta’s Bluegum technologies.

As General Manager of Benalla’s ADI site (now Thales) he opened doors for AVCLP to visit this unique manufacturing site for several years, and secured major corporate funding for AVCLP from Thales.

Barry’s contribution to regional economic development has been substantial. He is a former Chair of Wangaratta Unlimited and served on the Wangaratta Rovers Football Club Board and the Wangaratta Technical Education Centre Industry Reference Group.

Now working as a business advisor, in recent years Barry has fulfilled the role of Chairman of the Regional Executive Forum, a group that facilitates and promotes the vibrancy and excellence of regional businesses.